Music Will Save Your (My) Year

amanda+joaquim (2)
Here’s a feature I have not done in forever. Last a week, a ton of music came out of thin air or rather across digital waves. A ton. Like, a ridiculous amount. I am so blessed.

 

I actually have to go and re-do part of this post because I just discovered a ton more music. I’m not going to be able to talk about it all in detail, but I’ll share my favorite songs as well as a couple other lists. Wow. What a month for music though? I don’t think I’ve been this stunned in…well, forever. Scratch that, I was pretty shocked when Dark Before Dawn came out a couple years ago, but this is pretty close to that.

 

(99%) Some of these artists I had no idea were coming out with new music, others I had been impatiently waiting for. I’ll also throw in a few songs from earlier this month.

 

The first up is Paramore

 

The one that caused me to almost scream because PARAMORE. I had heard they were coming back, but wasn’t too sure on that. I didn’t think it’d be this year, but, well, yes! Paramore is back and poppy as ever. Embrace the lovely upbeat popppiness.

 

Hard Times gives me Tegan and Sara vibes which I definitely don’t hate. Their album is coming out in ELEVEN DAYS which is just, wow. I am so excited.

 

Their song? Hard Times and wow, they have a way of making a song that could easily sound a bit melancholy to making it the next Pop hit. Not much unlike the song Pumped Up Kicks by Foster The People.

 

The second is Young and Menace by Fall Out Boy. I’ve missed Pete Wentz’s voice. This song almost made me cry because I had NO idea they were coming back. They even have an album coming out in September and it’s such a long wait. Come quickly Fall.

 

This song is a bit of a departure from their last era but I will be the very first to say “Bring it” because yes. I am loving the soulsy, slower sound of this song. I am 100 percent positive the “Oops I did it again lyric” is a  Queen Britney reference. How could it NOT be?

 

Fall Out Boy does so good with songs against exes though. I love that it’s not even a toxic “you ruined my life, you were awful” song like some bands do.

 

Oops, I did it again,
I forgot what I was losing my mind about
I only wrote this down to make you press rewind
And send a message I was young and a menace

 

Can we please talk about the Nikki Sixx shout out because oh my goshhh. I freaking love it a million times over. For those that don’t know, Nikki Sixx was a co-founder of Motley Crue as well as the main songwriter and bassist. He’s now in the band he founded called Sixx AM (who also have an album out). He dealt with a lot of addiction between these two bands which, I believe, is where the “kill me twice” lyric Wentz references there.

 

My third amazement of last week was a triple feature by Foster The People. Yes, they, much like Jojo (Mad Love is out now!) came back with an EP of three songs. Their EP even has the same title as the Queen Jojo’s ep (III).  Doing It For The Money is my favorite song of the trio. I love the poppy sound of it and the mellowness.

 

I just discovered Lady Gaga has a song out called The Cure. It may also be coming to her possibly-soon-to-be-announced album? I’m here for it, even though I must admit I didn’t listen to Joanne.

 

I made a lovely playlist on Spotify that you can listen to here.

Now, to sum it all up –

Favorite Songs:
Doing It For The Money by Foster The People, Hard Times by Paramore, Most Girls by Hailee Steinfeld, Say My Name by Tove Stryke, Last Young Renegade by All Time Low
Biggest Surprises:
This is obvious by now, but I was really surprised by Paramore, Fall Out Boy and Foster The People coming out with music all of a sudden.
The Letdown:
Torches, No Vacancy and Thunder and J-Boy
The Albums I Need Now:
Lorde, Lana Del Rey, Halsey
New Discoveries:
Charlie Puth, Amelia Payne, Melokee and Sigrid. . . Really, just 75% of these songs.

Those With Albums or EPs Out::

Lea Michele Places
Mary J. Blige Strength of A Woman
Foster The People III

The Albums You Should Look Out For:

Paramore After Laughter (May 12th)
Ingrid Michaelson Alter Egos (May 12th) (What kind of This Is Acting tea?)
Papa Roach Crooked Teeth (May 19th)
All Time Low Dirty Laundry (June 2nd)
Bleachers Gone Now (June 2nd)
Halsey Hopeless Fountain Kingdom (June 2nd)
Allie X CollXtion II (June 9th)
Phoenix Ti Amo (June 9th)
Rise Against Wolves (June 9th)
Lorde Melodrama (June 16th)
Royal Blood How Did We Get So Dark? (June 16th)
Haim Something To Tell You (July 7th)
Fall Out Boy Mania (September 15th)

So, have you heard any of the songs I posted? What are you thoughts? Did you hear any songs I don’t have on my playlist? Let me know! I can never have enough music. Ever.

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

Leave a Reply

