A Hopeful Pre-ALA Reading Binge of Sorts

Hi everyone! I have been meaning to make this post for like, weeks now. I’m going to make it now and people are going to be like “But Amber, you’re like, a really slow reader, how are you supposed to read all those books by June 24th?”.

Well, dear reader, we can all have dreams. 

One thing that I like to do is make sure I’ve read at least one book by an author before taking an ARC, unless, of course, they’re a debut author. For example:

More Happy Than Not All The Bright Places Everything Everything

Those were also three of my favorite books.

Those three titles I read in 2015 and last year at BEA (which I’ll be doing a very weird recap post of later this week, I know, I know, I know), I happily grabbed all three of the ARCs.

“So how’d you like the follow-ups, Amber?”

Ha, we’re not going to be discussing that. I did start Silvera and Niven’s sophomore novels. Progress?

Okay, back on topic, enough rambling. Probably.

~All The Books I Hope To Read~

So, ideally I would read all these books, however, I don’t read fast and reading on my Kindle is the way to go. So my reading schedule is essentially this:

When The Moon Was Ours, History Is All You Left Me, Aftercare Instructions, all of which I’ve read partway through. Followed by Afterward, This Adventure Ends, When We Collided, I Believe In a Thing Called Love, When Dimple Met Rishi, The Lies About Truth, 99 Days or Fireworks and then Pointe if I have time.

I know, I am ‘so’ ambitious. 


How do you go about getting ARCs from conferences? Do you pick up non-debuts if you haven’t read an author’s book before? Do you pick up whatever sounds good or an author that’s getting a lot of talk? I want to know.

 

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

One response to “A Hopeful Pre-ALA Reading Binge of Sorts

Leave a Reply

