Some Gradient Covers

WCW_GraphicThis is my next edition of my somewhat sporadic feature, Wondrous Covers Wednesday.

Wondrous Covers Wednesday is a weekly feature where I choose to showcase three covers with similar attributes and themes. To see past editions, you can check out my page for them here

For today’s Wondrous Covers Wednesday, I decided I’d finally share some covers I’ve loved over the past year. They’re all mostly white covers with a lot of gradient running through them. They also have somewhat the same color scheme.


~One~

You_Bring_The_Distant_Near_Mitali_Perkins

You Bring The Distant Near by Mitali Perkins

~My Thoughts~

You Bring The Distant Near has such a gorgeous cover. I love the big focus on the text, but I love how it’s not so overbearing that the image doesn’t shine through. The colors are gorgeous. The image itself is so interesting. 

~Cover/Book Connection~

Well, You Bring The Distant Near spans over the time of three generations. I associate each generation with a color in the gradient which makes one whole person. It’s such an awesome way to showcase that.


~Two~

Because_of_The_Sun_Jenny_Torres_Sanchez

Because of The Sun by Jenny Torres Sanchez

~My Thoughts~

I always love sunsets on covers and this one is interesting because of the lack of focus the image has. In addition to the sunset (of sorts), there’s a desert going on. I love how the title font is sort of fading and blowing away. It helps give that desert atmosphere.

~Cover/Book Connection~

Because of The Sun takes place in New Mexico which does have a lot of deserts in it. The main character, Dani is sent to live there with her aunt after her mother’s death. I think this is where the far-off vehicle and person standing by it come from as well. The wind’s affect on the cover also makes me think of how this book will have a lot of growth. Battling deserts, battling emotions, kind of thing.


~Three~

The_Thing_With_Feathers_McCall_Hoyle

The Thing With Feathers by McCall Hoyle

~My Thoughts~

This cover is so pretty and lyrical and it seems very “literature” to me. I don’t have too much to say about it other than I really love the colors. It’s such a soft looking cover. I’m a big fan of the title font since it has the sort of flowing feeling you expect from feathers. I think the balance between the title and feather are done really great as well.

~Cover/Book Connection~

The Thing With Feathers is one of Emily Dickinson’s poems. The title is taken from that so it’s pretty self-explanatory. The main character shares the same name as the poet, except it’s spelled Emilie. Emilie ends up doing a school project about the poet. I suspect Emily Dickinson will help Emilie a lot with overcoming her struggles.


What do you think about these covers? Which is your favorite? Can you think of any other similar ones? 

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

2 responses to “Some Gradient Covers

Leave a Reply

