Top Ten Tuesday (#3) — Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

Top Ten Tuesday
 
Hey everyone!
 
It has been Wednesday for about two hours now, I was going to post this earlier, but of course I got distracted and hadn’t even finished my post yet. Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday post.
 
Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and The Bookish. To find out more about it, you can go here. Here is my top ten list for the week. This week’s list is “Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read”. As usual, there are not ten selections, only nine. 😦 I can never think of a complete list of teen books for some reason. I guess technically all of my picks are series equaling a much larger amount than ten. 🙂 Let’s begin:

 

Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read
1. Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling
Ok, the reason why I am not so sure if I want to read Harry Potter or not is because it’s simply never appealed to me. I have been told that I need to read it though. I think I will eventually break down and end up reading it. I’m just not sure when.

 

2. Starry Night by Isabel Gillies
I read Starry Night contains a bit of Instant love which I do not like at all in books. 😦 It’s just so unbelievable and takes me out of the story, because life does not happen like that. This is incredibly disappointing because I was so in love with the title, premise and the cover.

 

3. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare (Series)
As for The Mortal Instruments, I discovered it was a Harry Potter fanfic years ago. I have nothing against Fanfiction, but there is a sort of turn off about it since it’s now a new book…series. Once again, I will break down and read this book because hello, it’s The Mortal Instruments. I’m also tired of missing all the book crazes. 😦

 

4. Divergent by Veronica Roth (Series)
Ah, the first book I actually own from this list! Diveregent, besides missing this book craze, I’ve heard the sequel isn’t very good. I just don’t want to get super into Diveregent and then be disappointed. I’m avoiding reading it as well because of it’s length.

 

5. Deep Blue by Jennifer Donnelley (Waterfire Saga)
Deep Blue! I fell in love with the cover of this book and the poem on the back. I’ve read a few negative reviews on Goodreads and see some of the dialogue that I don’t like. At all. It was a little juvenile from what I recall. 

 

6. If I Stay by Gayle Forman (Series)
*sighs* I went and did it again guys, I spoiled the book for myself! I always do this. Always. Without fail. Movies, books, tv shows. Spoilers everywhere, I’m like a magnet for them. I don’t want to read it because I know the ending now. I don’t know the journey though, so I will be reading this. Oh, the book somehow got liquid all over the pages so I’m upset and turned off by the fact it’s not a perfectly flat unstained book now. 😦

 

7. Where She Went by Gayle Forman (Series)
This is basically the same as If I Stay, minus the fact that it’s not ruined.

 

8. Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin (Series)
I own A Song of Ice and Fire. I’ve owned it since March in fact. Why I haven’t read it? It’s so intimidating! It’s like 800 pages. I do watch the tv series, which I love. I will end up reading this book sooner or later. Maybe after I get the rest I’ll have more of an incentive. 

 

9. Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
This is a series along with Harry Potter that I feel I should have already read. Like in middle school. I feel like I kind of missed out on not reading these two series when they’ve been crazy possible. Granted, I’m not super into the magical element of both series, but still. They’re basically classics. I’m intimidated by the series length though, once again.

 

Well that’s my list. What are some of the books you’ve been debating about reading? Let me know. 🙂

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 30-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

5 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday (#3) — Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

  • studentspyglass

    Ooh I’ve actually read a fair few of these!

    I’m a huge Harry Potter geek but at the same time if they don’t appeal, maybe they’re not worth reading? (Seriously can’t believe I just said that!). I don’t know, I just feel like maybe you’ll end up disliking them if they don’t appeal?

    I quite enjoyed The Mortal Instruments and If I stay, but I have really mixed feelings about Divergent. I really enjoyed the premise but I just felt like the first book was the best.

    I read the Lord of The Rings as a teenager and hated it. I’ve re-read it since and enjoyed it more, but I much preferred Game of Thrones to be honest!

    Like

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      Nice!

      I was turned off them in middle school because everyone read them. Yes, I was one of “those” people. Lol. There are some aspects of the Harry Potter books that I do like. Herimone is a strong character, I’ve heard, which I like, of course. I think I will read them some day.

      The Mortal Instruments is high on my list of series I desperately want to read, even with the fanfiction start. I’ve heard that about Divergent, that the first one is good and then the second one just…isn’t.

      Lord of The Rings is outside of my normal reading selection, I’m not crazy about fantasy books. Plus the books are a bit long.

      I love the Game of Thrones tv series though. For that fact alone I want to read the books.

      Like

  • La Coccinelle

    I’m surprised you haven’t read Harry Potter! That’s not necessarily a bad thing (there are a ton of books out there, after all, and we can’t be expected to read every one of them)… it’s just surprising. It’s not my favourite series, but it’s entertaining (especially the first few books).

    I wouldn’t worry about If I Stay. It was a huge disappointment for me. I wanted to like it, but it was boring. One of the more over-hyped books I’ve read, actually.

    Like

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      I know! It’s a ridiculous thought, right? Be honest. 😛 It is surprising though, that’s usually the series kids start off with. I do plan to read it…eventually. Lol. Maybe when I just can’t take it anymore and “have” to read the series.

      Aw, that’s unfortunate. I know my sister loves the book. She’s said it’s her favorite book. I have actually started it, but that was at the beginning of July and I got turned off from the writing.

      Oh no, it sucks to read a book that is so hyped up and then be disappointed by it.

      Like

  • The Sunday Post (#4) (8/17/14) | Young Adult Indulgences

    […] Top Ten Tuesday (#3) – Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read  […]

    Like

Leave a comment