Top Ten Favorite Books From The Last Three Years

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme featured at The Broke and The Bookish. Every Tuesday they create a new list for book bloggers to participate in.  You can go to the following links if you want to sign up or see future lists.
Today’s list is the top ten books we have read in the last three years, which can be extended to the last five years, that we would call favorites.
~Top Ten Favorite Books~

The Walled CityFree To FallRites Of PassageAll The Bright PlacesI'll Meet You There

Falling Into PlaceThe DUFFEleanor and park coverWhere She WentPerks of Being A Wallflower

  1. The Walled City by Ryan Graudin
    1. This was the first book I read this year and I loved it. I loved the narrative, the characters, everything.
  2. Free To Fall by Lauren Miller
    1. This has been the first sci-fi-ish book I’ve ever really read, in the contemporary, not really contemporary sense. So excluding books like…Fahrenheit 451 (okay, not sci-fi, but hopefully you know what I mean). 🙂 I loved Rory and the mystery in it.
  3. Rites of Passage by Joy N. Hensley
    1. I listed Sam as one of my favorite heroines last week so it makes sense the whole book would make this week’s list. I really liked Rites of Passage because it wasn’t like something I’d read before, taking place in a military academy with a slight mystery.
  4. All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
    1. I adored this book. Adoreddd. I could really relate to Finch in some ways and there are so many lovely quotes in here that I just loved.
  5. I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios
    1. Oh gosh… This book…It made me cry three times… I loved everything about this. Especially Skylar and the entire setting. 
  6. Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang
    1. It’s kind of surprising I liked this given what the main character, Liz was like but…I don’t know, I just connected with her. I could relate to her in certain aspects. I loved the way it was told too.
  7. The DUFF by Kody Keplinger
    1. The whole premise of this is so great. I loved how Bianca ended up turning to sex to be distracted from her problems. That sounds really bad to say. Hmm. I also loved how sarcastic and cynical she was and different from her friends.
  8. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell
    1. I loved how different the characters were from anyone else. I liked the issues it dealt with too.
  9. Where She Went (If I Stay #2) by Gayle Forman
    1. Oh gosh, I just loved Where She Went. It made me fall in love with one night engagements, second chances and New York.
  10. Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
    1. It took me forever to read this despite knowing about it for years. I loved Charlie and how he had a mental illness which is hinted at throughout the book. It is seriously THE coming-of-age book.
~Bonus~

Aristotle and Dante Discover The Secrets of The Universe

Aristotle and Dante Discover The Secrets of The Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
This is one of my favorite character driven novels. I just fell in love with the characters and the story. I found it really poetic and thought provoking when I read it.
As you can see, I’m a big fan of contemporary/realistic YA fiction. That’s my list, what’s on yours? 🙂 Do we share any books?

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 30-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

10 responses to “Top Ten Favorite Books From The Last Three Years

Leave a comment