Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books On Your Winter TBR

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday (TTT) is a weekly meme created and hosted by the ladies at The Broke and The Bookish. Every week they have a new top ten list for the bookish blogosphere to participate in. 🙂 To participate in this week’s TTT and see future TTTs, you can go here. 🙂
I really like this week’s Top Ten list. I have a never-ending amount of books on my TBR in general, but for my winter one, I have a few Christmasy/Wintery books I want to read. I have some review books I need to read as well, so they’re also make the cut.

~Top Ten Books on Winter TBR~

~One~

RememberRemember by Eileen Cook
Goodreads Summary:
A thrilling tale about what a girl will do to get back a memory she lost…or remove what she wants to forget.Harper is used to her family being hounded by protesters. Her father runs the company that trademarked the “Memtex” procedure to wipe away sad memories, and plenty of people think it shouldn’t be legal. Then a new demonstrator crosses her path, Neil, who’s as persistent as he is hot. Not that Harper’s noticing, since she already has a boyfriend.
When Harper suffers a loss, she’s shocked her father won’t allow her to get the treatment, so she finds a way to get it without his approval. Soon afterward, she’s plagued with strange symptoms, including hallucinations of a woman who is somehow both a stranger, yet incredibly familiar. Harper begins to wonder if she is delusional, or if these are somehow memories.
Together with Neil, who insists he has his own reasons for needing answers about the real dangers of Memtex, Harper begins her search for the truth. What she finds could uproot all she’s ever believed about her life…
I received Remember from Edelweiss. This title is going to be published in a few months (February) to be exact. I’m really interested in seeing Harper deal these hallucinations and Memtex. It seems a little dystopian to me and reminds me of Free To Fall by Lauren Miller with the Gnosis corporation.

~Two~

Every Ugly WordEvery Ugly Word by Aimee Salter
Goodreads Summary:
When seventeen-year-old Ashley Watson walks through the halls of her high school bullies taunt and shove her. She can’t go a day without fighting with her mother. And no matter how hard she tries, she can’t make her best friend, Matt, fall in love with her. But Ashley also has something no one else does: a literal glimpse into the future. When Ashley looks into the mirror, she can see her twenty-three-year-old self.
Her older self has been through it all already—she endured the bullying, survived the heartbreak, and heard every ugly word her classmates threw at her. But her older self is also keeping a dark secret: Something terrible is about to happen to Ashley. Something that will change her life forever. Something even her older self is powerless to stop.
I was approved for this book on Netgalley back in July, strangely enough since it was published on July 29th. Anyway, sort of forgot about it and seeing as the archive date is relatively soon, I really need to finish it! I’ve already started it and I like it pretty well so far, it has my interest.

~Three~

When_Reason_BreaksWhen Reason Breaks by Cindy L. Rodriguez
Goodreads Summary:
13 Reasons Why meets the poetry of Emily Dickinson in this gripping debut novel perfect for fans of Sara Zarr or Jennifer Brown.
A Goth girl with an attitude problem, Elizabeth Davis must learn to control her anger before it destroys her. Emily Delgado appears to be a smart, sweet girl, with a normal life, but as depression clutches at her, she struggles to feel normal. Both girls are in Ms. Diaz’s English class, where they connect to the words of Emily Dickinson. Both are hovering on the edge of an emotional precipice. One of them will attempt suicide. And with Dickinson’s poetry as their guide, both girls must conquer their personal demons to ever be happy.
When Reason Breaks is another Netgalley ARC I’ve received. I was very interested in it because of the 13 Reasons Why reference, although I haven’t read it (yet) and the poetry of Emily Dickinson, who I’m a fan of, mentions in the book.

~Four~

Since You've Been GoneSince You’ve Been Gone by Mary Jennifer Payne
Goodreads Summary:
Is it possible to outrun your past? Fifteen-year-old Edie Fraser and her mother, Sydney, have been trying to do just that for five years. Now, things have gone from bad to worse. Not only has Edie had to move to another new school she’s in a different country.
Sydney promises her that this is their chance at a fresh start, and Edie does her best to adjust to life in London, England, despite being targeted by the school bully. But when Sydney goes out to work the night shift and doesn’t come home, Edie is terrified that the past has finally caught up with them.
Alone in a strange country, Edie is afraid to call the police for fear that she ll be sent back to her abusive father. Determined to find her mother, but with no idea where to start, she must now face the most difficult decision of her life.”
This is the final Netgalley title I need to read this winter. I like that it takes place in London and I’m interested in this past Edie and her mom are running from. It sounds like a quick read.

~Five~

My_True_Love_Gave_To_MeMy True Love Gave To Me : Twelve Holiday Stories by a compilation of authors (Stephanie Perkins, Holly Black, Ally Carter, Gayle Forman, Jenny Han, David Levithan, Kelly Link, Myra McEntire, Matt de la Pena, Rainbow Rowell, Laini Taylor, and Kiersten White)
Goodreads Summary
If you love holiday stories, holiday movies, made-for-TV-holiday specials, holiday episodes of your favorite sitcoms and, especially, if you love holiday anthologies, you’re going to fall in love with MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME: TWELVE HOLIDAY STORIES by twelve bestselling young adult writers, edited by international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins.
I am really anticipating buying this book in just a couple weeks. I’ve read books by Stephanie Perkins, Gayle Forman, Jenny Han, David Levithan and Rainbow Rowell and really liked them. I’ve heard great things about Holly Black and Im interested in Kiersten White’s work so this should be a great compilation of holiday stories, some of my favorites. 🙂

~Six~

Dash and Lily's Book of DaresDash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
Goodreads Summary:
“I’ve left some clues for you.
If you want them, turn the page.
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the bestselling authors ofNick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

After reading Nick and Norah’s Infinite playlist by Cohn and Levithan, I can’t wait to read this book. First of all, it takes partly in a bookstore. A bookstore! The romantic in me just loves the idea of finding love in a book store. There should be a song about that. You know, sort of like Falling In Love At A Coffee Shop (which I also love). And there’s a notebook involved! The notebook has the writer part of me jumping up and down in joy.
I also love stories that take place in New York with people who meet by chance. It sounds like it’s full of adventure and a cute romance and it’s during winter so I cannot wait.

~Seven~

FairiestFairest (The Lunar Chronicles #3.5) by Marissa
Goodreads Summary:
In this stunning bridge book between Cress and Winter in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles, Queen Levana’s story is finally told.
Mirror, mirror on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all?
Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now.
Marissa Meyer spins yet another unforgettable tale about love and war, deceit and death. This extraordinary book includes full-color art and an excerpt from Winter, the next book in the Lunar Chronicles series
Assuming I read Cinder, Scarlet and Cress, I definitely want to read this when it comes out! I’ll probably pre-order it and hopefully read it in winter. It sounds like a great winter series for some reason.
Ah, love, war, deceit and death, what more does a book need? It sounds so fantastic! I love prequels too! I’m in love with it already.

These are the only picks I really have for this winter. I could mention other books, but most likely they would be repeating what I said for my Fall TBR TTT. 🙂 If you’ve read any of these books, let me know how you liked them!
Advertisements

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

6 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books On Your Winter TBR

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: