All The Books I Meant To Read Last Year But Didn’t

Top Ten TuesdayIt’s Top Ten Tuesday! Top Ten Tuesday is a meme created and hosted at The Broke and The Bookish. Every week the ladies at The Broke and The Bookish put together a booklsh list for bloggers (or not) to participate in. If you want to join in and link up (and you should because most likely there’s at least one book you meant to read last year but didn’t), you can go here!
Well I pretty much already gave away the list for the week in that last sentence, but in case you missed it, this week’s list is….
Top Ten 2014 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To
And because I’m me and don’t read nearly as much as I want to, this is going to be more like “top undisclosed number 2014 releases….”. 🙂
  1. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton
    • I fell in love with this book as soon as I saw the cover, I checked out from the library but….I never got around to reading it. I really meant to read it.
  2. Belzhar by Meg Wolitzer
    • This is another book I had checked out from the library that I never got around to reading. 😦
  3. Glory O’Brien’s History of The Future by A.S. King
    • There’s going to be a bit of a pattern for these next few books. Let’s see if you can see it.
  4. Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless by Liz Czukas
    • It’s described as part Breakfast Club, that’s all I needed to know to be interested in this. I think I’m going to buy this book sometime, just so when I get around to wanting to read it, I’ll be able to.
  5. Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout
    • The summary for Don’t Look Back is intriguing and after reading We Were Lairs, I wanted to read more Thrillers. I had this one checked out and never got it.
  6. Damsel Distressed by Kelsey Macke
    • I raved about this book in a past WoW, absolutely raved about it. I was so excited to read it. It finally came in at the library last month, I bought it last month as well, have I read it yet? Well by the title of this list, you can assume not. 😦
  7. No Place To Fall by Jaye Robin Brown
    • If I said I didn’t read this book because the library didn’t have it, would you believe me? I’m not sure how I feel about this book actually. I’ve never read a book where a main character has my name, so I think that may just feel a bit weird. Still though, I did want to read it last year. It didn’t help that it came out in December.
  8. Rumble by Ellen Hopkins
    • Rumble is a book I featured in a past WoW about how I was crazy about it because it dealt with religion. Apparently I wasn’t crazy enough to actually read it when….I had it checked out from the library. 🙂
  9. Something Real by Heather
    • I was sort of getting into reality tv show fiction and I heard this book was fantastic. I wanted to read it, but, er, it’s not able to be found at the library. So I finally bought it! And it sits….in the box….that it came in….
  10. Tease by Amanda Maciel
    • Tease has an interesting premise with the main character being a bully who helped in causing a girl’s suicide. From what I have heard of it (literally, heard, on an Audiobook), the girl has no remorse for her actions.
  11. Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern
    • I remember seeing this book in Barnes and Noble, it was so pretty and the plot sounded great and I just…never got around to reading it. BUT I BOUGHT IT! Yeah….there’s a couple patterns in this list…
  12. Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy
    • I have a thing for teens with terminal illnesses. I bought this one as well.
  13. Some Assembly Required: The Not-So-Secret Life of a Transgender by Arin Andrews
    • In addition to terminal illnesses and reality tv, I was also really interested in reading books about teens who are transgender. I haven’t gotten around to reading it, but I really hope to this year because it’s a memoir and I don’r read enough (read: any) of those.
  14. Rethinking Normal: A Memoir in Transition by Katie Rain Hill
    • You can insert the above post with this post. 🙂
  15. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson
    • …This is another one of those books that I was really really crazy about reading because of the pretty cover (like To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before) but the “big” size of it kind of turned me off, plus I bought it in paperback so then I worried about messing up the cover (You know, like when you read a paperback and because of how the pages are, the cover never sits flat again). I almost bought a second copy in hardcover, but I resisted. (I’m crying on the inside about that).
  16. Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas
    • I wanted to read Dangerous Boys when this book was blowing up in the blogosphere, I’ve owned it for three months now and have no reason to not have read it. Well, no reason other than I haven’t read Dangerous Girls yet and I want to read/finish that one first.
  17. Landline by Rainbow Rowell
    • Oh Rainbow Rowell, I loved Eleanor and Park a lot, so when I heard Rowell was coming out with this one, I was like “Oh my gosh, I need to read it”. Yeah, that didn’t happen. Despite my library having five copies of it, I never got around to reading it.
~Bonus: Books I Started But Didn’t Finish~
Althea & Oliver by Cristina Moracho
Even In Paradise by Chelsea Philpot
I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson
I didn’t finish the first two because I need to return them to the library or have ridiculous late feels. 😦 Then I haven’t finished I’ll Give You The Sun because I’m not crazy about it yet and I’ve been reading other books…
Help me feel better by telling me all the books you guys wanted to read but didn’t get around to. 🙂

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 30-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

8 responses to “All The Books I Meant To Read Last Year But Didn’t

Leave a comment