Weekly Recap (#1) (Nov. 9-17) + Stacking The Shelves

Welcome to my Weekly Recap, a new sort of feature for YA Indulgences which will replace The Sunday Post here. I’ll discuss this more down below. 🙂

~Life~

I went down to the chocolate store in town called Hazel Hill after emailing one of the owners. She said she would be there today, but she ended up at her other store in a nearby city. I filled out an application and emailed her though! Hopefully I’ll hear back. Cross your fingers. I really want this job. And not just because I like chocolate. 🙂

Life’s going pretty okay. It’s my grandma’s birthday today, but nothing much is going on besides cake later.

It’s freezing outside. Like 28 degrees. Ridiculous. I have a feeling we’re going to be cold here until next year. 😦 Normally I wouldn’t mind, but Im running low on hot chocolate and have no cookie dough to make cookies. You can totally see where my priorities are. Haha.

Life’s pretty tame right now so I don’t have too much to say about it. Eponine’s getting pretty big so I may start including some kitten pictures. 🙂 Our second oldest cat, Winky, is warming up to her, I think. He can actually tolerate being IN the house with her and even the same room. That’s such a big improvement when he would just leave the house and yard if he even saw her. He doesn’t hiss at her nearly as much. Only when she tries to get him. 🙂 She’s so sneaky.


~What You May Have Missed on YA Indulgences~

The Sunday Post + Stacking The Shelves

Musical Monday – Five Songs

Top Ten Tuesday

Review: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of The Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Wondrous Covers Wednesday

Review: A Midsummer’s Nightmare

Amber’s Rambles – Book Buying Bans, Binges and Budgets (Part 3: Budgets)


~What’s Coming Up on YA Indulgences~

Weekly Recap + Stacking The Shelves 

Review: The Hunger Games (#1) by Suzanne Collins

Review: Catching Fire (#2) by Suzanne Collins

Top Ten Tuesday

Amber’s Rambles

Featured Fairytale Friday

Review: Mockingjay (#3) by Suzanne Collins

Saturday (Freebie Post)


~Around The Blogosphere~

Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviwer has become an audiobook junkie

Cait @ Notebooksisters says to stop apologizing and says she’s a peer pressured reader .

Hazel @ Stay Bookish  features Alice of The Book Castle on Behind The Lens this week and opens up with her thoughts of inconsistency

Ashley @ Nose Graze asks how long it takes you to review a book and lists 6 things you don’t ned in your sidebar

Aimee @ Deadly Darlings shares five bookish things to do when you’re not reading  

Lauren @ bookmark lit talks about book ratings

Holly @ The Fox’s Hideaway lists her blogging and bookish goals for her third year  shares 21 things you don’t know about her

Rachel @ Confessions of a Book Geek shared a post @ Oh The Books asking “Are you book monogamous?”  

Rachel @ Hello, Chelly shares her latest Featurette! featuring Adi Alsaid 

Kelly @ Effortlessly reading shares five unpopular opinions.


~Blogging Changes~

I’m no longer doing The Sunday Post meme, but instead will be doing a new “feature” called Weekly Recap every Sunday night, but will occasionally be posted Monday. It will follow along the same lines of The Sunday Post as being a recap to my week.

I’m going to try to start doing three reviews a week which you can see will be starting this week. One on Tuesday and Thursday with a third on whatever day I DON’T have Musical Monday or Featured Fairytale Friday. I may post the third on Saturday, it all depends on when I have time to do it and my thoughts are in order.

I’m going to start doing a freebie fun post on Saturdays and/or Sundays so that’s something else to look forward to. 🙂


~Reading~

I finished Get Even by Gretchen Miller. My review for that will be up in a few weeks. I’ve started Roomies by Sara Zarr and Tara Altebrando, but I’m not even halfway through it yet. I still haven’t finished Adrenaline Crush but hope to finish both of those books tonight.


STS~Stacking The Shelves~

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme at Tynga’s reviews to share all your new books you’ve won, bought, borrowed, or acquired by illegal means. 😉

I had to pick up a ton of books I had on hold that were going to expire soon.

The Winner’s Curse (The Winner’s Trilogy #1) by Marie Rutkoski

The Young Elites (#1) by Marie Lu

Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

Trouble by Leonie Pratt

Life By Committee by Corey Ann Haydu

Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill

Breakfast Served Anytime by Sarah Combs


I thought a winter poem would be fitting so I discovered this lovely poem.

In Drear-Nighted December by John Keats 

In drear-nighted December,

Too happy, happy tree,

Thy branches ne’er remember

Their green felicity:

The north cannot undo them

With a sleety whistle through them;

Nor frozen thawings glue them

From budding at the prime.

In drear-nighted December,

Too happy, happy brook,

Thy bubblings ne’er remember

Apollo’s summer look;

But with a sweet forgetting,

They stay their crystal fretting,

Never, never petting

About the frozen time.

Ah! would ’twere so with many

A gentle girl and boy!

But were there ever any

Writhed not at passed joy?

The feel of not to feel it,

When there is none to heal it

Nor numbed sense to steel it,

Was never said in rhyme.

Let me know what’s going on this week in your life, blog wise or not. 🙂 

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 30-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

One response to “Weekly Recap (#1) (Nov. 9-17) + Stacking The Shelves

Leave a comment