Weekly Recap (#12) + Stacking The Shelves (#19)

Hey everyone. It’s time for my weekly recap and Stacking The Shelves. 🙂
~Life~
I got over my cold! Finally. It happened on Tuesday. So basically exactly two weeks after I got it, weird. I’m trying to think if anything special happened this week, but I don’t believe so…. Oh, I learned that squirrels mate for life today. I had no idea, I knew penguins did, not squirrels though. I know, I know, “Amber, you live such an exciting life!”, you don’t have to tell me. Ha. OH! Highlight of my week? Buying books. I’ll get to that when I do Stacking The Shelves though.
Let’s see what I’ve posted since my last recap (two weeks ago):
1/26 Musical Monday: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven Playlist
1/27 Top Ten Books I Would Have In A Book Club
1/27 ARC Review: I Was Here by Gayle Forman Three Stars
1/28 Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#20)
1/29 ARC Review: Since You’ve Been Gone by Mary Jennifer Payne Two Stars
1/29 2015 YA Trends/Themes (Part 1) -Amber’s Rambles #12
1/30 I Will Go Down With This Ship (Steorline from TVD) (More Than This Provincial Life #2)
1/31 Monthly Recap: January ’15
2/1 Looking Forward To: February ’15
2/2 Musical Monday: The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend by Kody Keplinger Playlist
2/3 Top “Ten” Contemporary Romance Books I Can Believe I Haven’t Read
2/3 ARC Review: Blues For Zoey by Robert Paul Weston Four Stars
2/4 Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#21) – Animated Covers
2/5 2015 Trends/Themes (Part 2) – Amber’s Rambles (#13)
2/6 ARC Review: When Reason Breaks by Cindy L. Rodriguez Three Stars
Let me just say, that I for one adore my musical monday playlists I’ve made the past few weeks. 🙂 Omg guys, Steroline’s coming, I know it is. The tension is so thick, it’s close. There will be a Stefan/Caroline kissing scene within the next episode or two, there has to be. I’m so excited!!
~This Week on YA Indulgences~
2/9 New Feature! One Day More
2/10 Review: My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga
2/10 Top Ten Tuesday
2/11 Wondrous Covers Wednesday
2/12 2015 YA Trends/Themes (Part 3) (Amber’s Rambles) This will probably be the final part.
2/12 Review: Remember by Eileen Cook
2/13 Possible Post
2/14 All The Quotes I Meant To Share 🙂
2/15 Weekly Recap
 
~Reading Progress~
I’ve read so much over the last eight days. Kind of. I read Remember by Eileen Cook, Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor, None of The Above by I.W. Gregorio, and I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios. That four books, it has been a good reading week, plus I started My Heart and Other Black Holes. I liked them all pretty well, especially the last two. 🙂 
~In My Blogging Life~
I discovered how to make circular graphics on Picmonkey! Apparently I just have to use the “rounded edges” in the Frames option. I’m so happy about that because I was wondering forever how to do that. If it was possible.
I have a new feature coming up called One Day More. It’s inspired by a couple other features “floating” around the blogosphere, I’m really excited though.
~Stacking The Shelves~
Stacking The ShelvesStacking The Shelves is a weekly meme created and hosted at Tynga’s Reviews. Every week bloggers are invited to link up and share what books they’ve obtained in whatever format. To link up, you can go here. A couple of these will be from a few weeks ago.
For Review:
Where You End by Anna Pellicioli (Thanks to Netgalley and Flux<3)
The Last Leaves Falling (Thanks to Netgalley and Simon & Schuster)
After Hours (Thanks to Edelweiss and Simon Pulse)
Last Year’s Mistake (Thanks to Edelweiss and Simon Pulse)
Little Peach (Thanks to Edelweiss and HarperCollins)
How To Win At High School (Thanks to Edelweiss and HarperCollins)
Get Dirty (Don’t Get Mad #2) by Gretchen McNeil (Thanks to and HarperCollins)
I am so excited about The Last Leaves Falling, How to Win At High School and Get Dirty. I’m honestly surprised I haven’t read Get Dirty already, but I’m restraining myself.
Won:

Book of my choice from Chrissy @Every Free Chance Books❤ I mentioned this in my monthly recap, but I wanted to mention it again. 🙂 I picked Even In Paradise by Chelsey Philpot, which I need to finish.

Purchased:
I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios! 🙂 But now I wish I’d waited and just bought a physical copy so I could get the book plate, bookmark and letter, since I’m now out of money. 😦 Oh well.
Us by David Nicholls
Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things To Mend (Broken Hearts & Revenge #1) by Katie Finn
Now I will leave you with some lovely quotes from books I read this past week:
~Memorable Book Quotes~
(All from I’ll Meet You There)
  • “It occurred to me that we were the same, in a way. Both of us treading water, pushing against forces we couldn’t control.” 
  • “Everything—the moon, the fireworks, the fields—had an otherworldly beauty, and I shivered, greedy for these bits of loveliness the universe was throwing our way tonight.” 
  • “Maybe all those years when Josh was running around town, acting like an idiot, he was just trying to find a way to escape. Maybe that was what all of us were doing, in our different ways.” 
  • “Was this what it meant to grow up, to move on?” 
  • “I didn’t want him to go home and leave me to wrestle my demons alone.” 
  • “What am I supposed to do when I’m bad for the one good thing in my life?” 
  • “How could someone hurt you so bad but you still wanted to hold him and tell him it was going to be okay?” 
  • “He was the parts of the day where I smiled.” 
  • “I can’t believe I only knew you for a year and a half—how can one person change you in two football seasons? But you did.” 
  • “Everything I was doing was like this chess game—full of second guesses, indecision, waiting.” 

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 30-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

5 responses to “Weekly Recap (#12) + Stacking The Shelves (#19)

Leave a comment